Why I Wrote Flash Mob

Flash Mob Elephant

Nearly two years ago, I lost my job of 29 years as a college professor of computer science. Like many Americans, I quickly realized that recent changes in the economy and the education landscape would make it unlikely to find satisfactory work. After my wife and I adjusted our financial plans, I thought about what I might do. Even though I had never before considered writing, I came up with an idea about a non-fiction book about baseball fandom. I outlined the concept and began writing. It was early October.

On Halloween of 2012, my daughter called to inform me that November was National Novel Writing Month. I figured that maybe I should work out the bugs of writing before I tackle my baseball opus. That night, I came up with an idea based upon an old family story. I began Flash Mob the next day. Flash Mob integrates fiction with some adapted autobiographical material. I knew where the story began and ended, so I made an outline in the form of a calendar. I blocked out the story in the form of vignettes in a chronology to advance the story.

Having no experience writing, I worked in an extremely linear manner. The story came together extremely well. I must admit, that aside from a few minor continuity issues, I changed very little content through the editing process. The structure was a different story. I would encourage any writer to retake seventh grade English before starting a project. The rules of commas, periods, and capitalization were lost for me. Fortunately, I had tremendous help with the editing.

Somehow, in a year and six weeks, I had gone from never having considered writing a novel to holding a complete hard copy in my hand. There are two more remarkable aspects to this story. First, I was extremely careful about investing money into the project. I was able to get professional artwork and editing for free through some very supportive relations. Through self-publishing, I spent only $10.00 on the ISBN, and did everything else myself. Not only can I say that I am published author, but I am in the black as well. The second remarkable outcome is that the work is really good.

Flash Mob is a comedy – romance – mystery. Everyone who has read it told me three things. They laughed out loud, they identified with the characters, and they did not see the ending coming. I cannot think of a better review, and I currently have 27 of them on Amazon as I write this. I am currently working on the sequel to Flash Mob (it takes place on a cruise ship). I also continue to add essays to my blog (www.thesmartestguyiknow.wordpress.com). I participate weekly in a writer’s group called the Parkland Writer’s Café.

Find out more at http://www.flashmobthenovel.com

© Copyright 2014 – Robert O’Connell. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Robert O’Connell with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

Leave a Reply

